a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Blue

Blue

The biggest challenge of living on the East End of Long Island is warding off the blues
this time of year. When I’m asked what it’s like here in the winter, I say it’s
quiet and only for those who can create their own  amusement.
After a succession of grey days, I searched my
archives for this very blue January sky
to entertain my imagination
and yes, to keep smiling.

©Meryl Spiegel 2013–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

17 responses

  1. Pat

    Michigan is the same way so I lived through many winters where the biggest challenge was to smile. The grey is so heavy and constant. When the sun come out everyone blink. I remember times of laying on the floor in my house so I could catch a little sun coming in the window and feel its warmth. Hang in there!

    January 12, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    • Pat, it’s good to hear that I’m not alone…and yes, I lay on the floor when the sun shines down through the paladium windows too on the sunny days….xoxmeryl

      January 12, 2013 at 10:07 pm

  2. Very pretty Meryl. Nice depth of field.

    January 12, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  3. Nice post Meryl…don’t worry sunny days ahead soon!
    love n hugs
    Xxx

    January 13, 2013 at 5:39 am

    • Yes, Seadog…I can see them…thanks for your perpetual optimism….:-)

      January 13, 2013 at 9:49 am

  4. It does help to meditate on photos during this time of year especially Meryl… have found this myself. This is a beauty 🙂
    x ps: sorry have not been ok enough to return your message from earlier in week ~ neck/jaw/shoulder out of control…
    hope we can talk soon.

    January 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    • Robyn…so pleased that you have discovered how photography can soothe….hope to hear from you soon….xoxomeryl

      January 14, 2013 at 8:28 am

  5. rimassolosailingaroundtheworldm

    Blue color picture,that’s very interesting,thank you so much for sharing

    January 13, 2013 at 9:29 pm

  6. What a lovely photo to return to… I love how my photos can take me back to so many happy memories of time past….

    January 14, 2013 at 2:38 am

    • Thanks Bulldog….photography has so much power to transcend us….xoxm

      January 14, 2013 at 8:25 am

  7. Hi- Just wanted to stop by & let you know that I nominated your work for “Blog of the Year 2012!” http://fictionalmachines.com/2013/01/14/blog-of-the-year-2012-six/ Enjoy the day! 🙂

    January 14, 2013 at 12:10 pm

  8. I adore shots like this – so simple and clear and beautiful. Lovely.

    January 14, 2013 at 1:17 pm

  9. Thank you Zen and Genki….they come around every so often….and I share your feelings about simplicity…always wonderful…

    January 14, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

