a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Patterns

Patterns
As the new year starts, we’ve been programmed to make resolutions
for how we plan to change our spots in the coming year.
It’s been my experience that they rarely work.
Instead I like to take stock of the areas
where I made progress in the
past year, then settle on
a few intentions:
old patterns
I’d like
to break,
or new ones
I’d like to initiate.
This gives me more latitude,
more room to rearrange those spots
rather than expect them to change completely.

©Meryl Spiegel 2013–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

10 responses

  1. Pat

    Wonderful writing and the image matches perfectly. Thanks. Nice to have you back – I feel like I’ve been missing you.

    January 6, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    • Thanks Pat…I haven’t been posting as often in the last few weeks….the holidays threw me off schedule…but I should be back to my routine now…always great to hear from you!

      January 6, 2013 at 5:40 pm

      • Pat

        🙂

        January 6, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  2. Hi Meryl, hope you had a good Christmas and new year 🙂
    My only resolution this year is not to make any resolutions..
    Oh bugger failed already!!:-D

    Seriously every year I make them, loose weight(i did do that once ) stop drinking etc, all sorts of things that i never get round to doing so I’m not making any this year…
    And do you know..I feel free!!!

    I’m off to have a drink now and do some of the stuff i wasn’t going to do!
    See you soon,
    Love n hugs
    xxx

    January 6, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    • Hi Seadog, so it seems your share my feelings about resolutions…glad to hear you’re
      taking it light and enjoying…sometimes that’s the best medicine…xomeryl

      January 7, 2013 at 8:55 am

  3. I agree… Resolutions need to be ongoing and flexible, rather than a New Year’s activity. This is a great photo Meryl…. No end to the patterns we find in nature! XO 💞

    January 7, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    • Thank you Robyn….flexibility isn’t it a wonderful thing to aspire to?

      January 8, 2013 at 10:01 am

  4. A wonderful image with beautiful patterns. I wish you all the best for the new year, Meryl, with or without new year’s resolutions.

    January 10, 2013 at 5:05 am

  5. Pingback: Bonnes résolutions | 1 Via Giansetto

Your comment is appreciated!

