a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Rebooted

One of the benefits of all this blogging
is the feedback received on my work. Last week
I responded to a generous offer of a Picture Critique by Otto of
Munchows Creative Photo Blog.  In response I submitted my latest Phantom.
I knew that the background was too busy, but didn’t know quite how to improve it.
Within a few days, I had the answer. Otto simply suggested that I darken it so it almost appears
like night and increase the contrast in the foreground. Here’s the result…
Let me know what you think.
Thank you Otto!

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

15 responses

  1. Fun to see the result, Meryl. And I think it did improve, don’t you?

    November 19, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  2. Photographing urban subjects is so hard – because there is so much clutter. I remember seeing the first, but not well enough to compare. I actual think all the noise around the phantom increases the effect. In this one the sign on the side of the phone booth is what catches the eye and the phantom get lost.

    November 19, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    • Yes, I see what you mean..maybe I will tone down the sign a bit…thanks!

      November 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  3. Hi Meryl ~ so interesting. I cannot decide – just went to before/after to see the contrast. I agree this one seems more dramatic ~ and the suggestion of evening is a bit more mystical with the phantom … but also see what Pat is saying — though perhaps the phantom blending in with background some gives it even more of a “spooky” impact which can be desirable? ~ So fun to experiment with this and wonderful of Otto to lend his expertise! ~ x R

    November 19, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    • Thanks Robyn….it’s fun to share the process and see how others respond….it’s one of the pleasures of creativity as I’m sure you know…xomeryl

      November 19, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  4. When I saw the title I thought that you might have found a way for us to reboot our lives… a quick switch off and restart that would clear us of our bugs…. now for the picture… been back and returned… both look good to me… but then what do I know…

    November 19, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    • What a wonderful idea, Bulldog…I will think on it and get back to you…:)

      November 20, 2012 at 12:47 am

    • What a wonderful idea, Bulldog…I will think on it and get back to you…:)

      November 20, 2012 at 12:47 am

  5. this one looks great!!

    November 20, 2012 at 6:34 am

  6. Thank you Linda!

    November 20, 2012 at 8:46 am

  7. I’m with Bulldog Meryl, I think they both look good, though I can see what Otto and Pat are saying too.
    As Robyn says just have a mess about and see 🙂
    Digital photography.. brilliant!
    Keep them coming please Meryl
    love n hugs
    xxx

    November 21, 2012 at 7:55 am

  8. It turned out well! Very nice!

    November 21, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

