a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Powerless

lost my head
where’d it go
disconnected
who do I know

lost my head
boots keep walking
Yay a landline
am I talking
The  recent loss of power by so many of us
in the Northeast has fed right into my persistent belief
–and the premise of my Phantoms series—that we are perilously too
reliant on technology in order to communicate on the most basic level.
Now when I view the most recent Phantom taken in New York about
a week before the hurricane, I’m quite spooked by
the premonition it seemed to convey…

Visit Phantoms to see more in this series

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

8 responses

  1. Great picture Meryl, as are the rest of the phantoms, the words fit it perfectly. Hope you are keeping warm and dry 🙂
    love n hugs xxx

    November 15, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    • Thanks Seadog…pleased they resonate with you…and yes very warm and dry….:)

      November 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

  2. That’s good news Meryl, I’ve seen some pictures from over your way that look VERY COLD!!!!

    I thnk we are going to be having a bit of that here soon…brrrr… that means the whole country will come to a complete stop as we have about 2 inches of snow…
    We would be in a pile of trouble if it ever REALLY snows 🙂
    xxx

    November 15, 2012 at 2:22 pm

  3. Very spooky!

    November 15, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    • Yes, I often feel like I have a sixth sense…it can be quite accurate at times….xom

      November 16, 2012 at 8:36 am

  4. Quite profound, Meryl!
    Great processing on this photo, too!

    November 17, 2012 at 12:18 am

  5. headless person ~ yes has haunted quality this time! Wonder if phantom did know about ‘Hurricane Sandy’ ~ and that there were to be no land-lines to be found the following week!! Great post dear Meryl! xxoo

    November 17, 2012 at 12:29 am

    • It was just one of those strange coincidences that didn’t occur to me until this week…thanks Robyn!

      November 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

