a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Peace

worn or ruined
windows detailed
tasks reframed
piece by
peace

In the midst of a crisis,
it’s often overwhelming and painful to look at the
whole picture. After reading story after story of all the suffering wrought
by the hurricane and seeing image after image of the devastated coastline including the
Jersey shore where I grew up, I found some solace in gazing at this image taken years ago.
I’ve learned that focusing on one piece at a time, brings me back to earth, to the present
moment, allows me to see the beauty in each detail surrounding me,
no matter how worn or ruined. Interesting that detail also refers
‘special duty’ since this approach moves me
forward to tackle one small task at a
time–much more peaceful
than trying to solve
the whole problem
at once…

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

8 responses

  1. Excellent way to focus on the present! I find it helpful, I’m glad it helps you!

    November 5, 2012 at 9:53 pm

  2. I think that’s the only way for all of us to solve a problem or challenge – piece by piece (or peace). Lovely picture, Meryl, and touching words.

    November 6, 2012 at 12:15 pm

  3. This is so true.. after feeling overwhelmed, it really helps to stop and begin with little steps.. Thank you for the reminder today:) xx

    November 6, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    • Not always easy to slow down when others seems to be in such a rush around you….but I’ve come to learn that there’s no other way…great to hear from you Barbara!

      November 7, 2012 at 8:50 am

  4. You have discovered the secret of life. It is in the small things done with deliberate care and mindfulness. I love this post and the quiet detail woven into it. To rest, restoration and recovery after the storm. Sharon

    November 7, 2012 at 5:42 am

    • Ahhhh…your kindness just seeps through all that you write…even your comments…do you read fiction…I just read a book that I think you would enjoy…it’s quite sad but the language is so splendid and the imagery divine….it’s called The Orchardist…xomeryl

      November 7, 2012 at 8:45 am

Your comment is appreciated!

