a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Blessed


I try not to use this as a forum for
my personal life, but I couldn’t resist
in this instance. In the aftermath of the
hurricane, with all the dismal news of wreckage
and destruction, I received this image via email of
me and my grandson, whom I took as my date to the
bat mitzvah of my neighbor’s daughter. When I saw the
picture, all I could think of is how blessed and grateful I am.
I know it’s a cliche, but sometimes it takes a catastrophe to
see and appreciate all that we have..

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

22 responses

  1. What a wonderful image to share. You and your grandson are such a wonderful image of love. I hope you are well, and that your home is okay. And that blessings surround you, and that God’s never-ending love and courage sustain you. “Comfort my people, says the Lord.” May you find strength and comfort each and every day.

    Blessings, Erin

    November 2, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    • Many thanks Erin….yes, all is well here…we were very lucky this time…must continue to pray that the storms don’t worsen and that they start to take climate change more seriously. Hugs….Meryl

      November 2, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      • Yes, I agree! I live about 20 minutes from Boston, so we’ve gotten hurricanes here too, and not growing up here, I didn’t think the East Coast did get hurricanes, but they seem to be getting worse each year. Irene was much worse for us last year.
        Hopefully things will change!
        Blessings, Erin

        November 2, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  2. What a handsome date! And you look so happy. Yes, you are blessed.

    November 2, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    • It was a special day for us…yes…very happy…thanks Pat!

      November 2, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  3. Now that is a keeper… that photo should be enlarged and kept on the wall…. Boy with his Gran… and what a handsome couple you make…

    November 2, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    • Thanks Bulldog, it was quite a special day and yes, planning to do just that…:)

      November 3, 2012 at 8:41 am

  4. Lovely!

    November 2, 2012 at 11:23 pm

  5. Love this shot Meryl ~ and could you have had a more charming and loving date than this young man? ~ Yes – we are blessed in so many ways ~ Always find the Joy… Love and Laugh … and embrace all that is Life ~ xo R

    November 3, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    • Yes, Robyn..I think way younger is the way to go…they still love to cuddle…:)

      November 3, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  6. It is a blessing to each of us to remember that which is ultimately the most important in our lives. “Those we love and cherish”! Thank you, a wonderful post and excellent reminder my dear friend! Penny

    November 3, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    • So pleased that it resonated for you, Penny!

      November 3, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      • All the way through and still is … Meryl!

        November 3, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  7. Such a precious photo and a treasure to have! Exquisite!

    November 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  8. Oh Meryl!!! What a stunningly beautiful picture of the two of you! What an incredible grandson you have there! You know, that is one picture I would love to one day be able to take! You are in a time and a place in life so many would just love to be. I am sharing in your happiness and joy of thankfulness for a good life. With love, Sharon

    November 7, 2012 at 5:40 am

    • Yes, Sharon…I am reaping much joy from the seeds I have sown i…my children are grown and it is sometimes lonely without them here…but watching their lives unfurl is wonderful…after having two girls, I thought I had missed the experience of little boys…but now I’m blessed with two…love to you…Meryl

      November 7, 2012 at 8:49 am

  9. What a nice picture Meryl, you both look so relaxed and happy.
    There is a special bond between grand children and their grandparents, and this shows in this picture of you both.
    He’s going to be a proper lady killer when he grows up!
    Hope all is ok with you.. reading through I didn’t realise that you were so close to the storm 😦
    Good luck with the clear up, it’s been a busy week for the U.S.!
    love n hugs
    xxx

    November 7, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    • Thanks Seadog….yes, it is so special…it’s one of those things that people tell you is so wonderful, but you can’t quite believe it until it happens to you…and yes, I’m one block away from the bay but was oh so lucky…xoxmeryl

      November 7, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  10. I think it’s lovely that you share something of yourself. As Seadog says, you both look so happy and relaxed. And yes, sometimes it does take a catastrophe to be reminded of the blessings in life.

    November 11, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    • Thanks, Otto…I’ve been hesitant about showing my face…but thought I could make an exception here…:)

      November 11, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  11. What a wonderful picture! You guys look great… 🙂
    BTW, I was little taken aback when you mentioned in your post that it was your grandson!
    Trust me… You don’t look that old 🙂

    November 27, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

