a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Afterglow

fireworks
oh so clear
not a trace
terror
here
What a difference a day makes.
At 8 am the morning after Sandy,
the sun was shining so bright it set these
plumes on fire. One would never know what
nature had wreaked the night before. My prayers
go out to all those suffering from the havoc of the hurricane.
And I thank my lucky stars that my family and home were spared.
xoxomeryl

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

10 responses

  1. What a comforting thought and image .. We had the most glorious moon last night in the middle east with the most unraffled sea, you would not believe that across the globe angry havoc prevailed .. So thankful for your safety ..

    October 31, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    • Maybe it’s helpful to think of nature’s waves as ebbing and flowing from sea to sea…it seems to make so much more sense…:)

      October 31, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  2. I am so glad She missed you and caused no damage… I also pray for those she has affected and may their lives return to normal as soon as possible… just like nature can turn from ugly to beautiful…

    November 1, 2012 at 12:18 am

    • Thanks Bulldog! Didn’t miss us…there were heavy winds and high surf here but no flooding or
      substantial damage in my neighborhood…amazing since the water is just a block away…New Jersey
      and New York City got the worst of it….xom

      November 1, 2012 at 9:41 am

  3. Lovely shot Meryl ~ I am still at a remote location as power has been down and my house extremely damp ~ tried to return yesterday only to turn around again. The hotel I stayed also lost power for 2 days… but as you say thankful as with storm surge of this magnitude we could have truly lost it all. There were many at the first hotel who lost entire homes or stories of their homes… Moriches is one that comes to mind ~ just west of me. We have a lot to be grateful for… xo Love to you dear friend ~

    November 1, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    • Sounds like an ordeal for you…but good not to be alone…let me know if you need anything….xom

      November 1, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  4. Beautiful shot! They look like little glowing fans!
    Glad you and the family came through the storm safely!

    November 5, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    • They were the first sight I saw when I stepped outside the morning after…can’t help but think they were a sign…:)
      Thanks Fergie!

      November 5, 2012 at 6:45 pm

  5. I beautiful picture. Indeed mother nature have so many faces and facets. I hope things are getting more normalized in your area, but good that you were spared the worst rampage of Sandy.

    November 7, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    • Thanks Otto! I try to look for the silver lining…things were getting back to normal, although there are still long lines for gas and today it is storming again….a nor’easter…but as you can see, I have power so far!

      November 7, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

