a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Courage

scaling
snowy
heights
uncertain
plight
digging
deep
taking
a leap
courage
I seek

Courage, so elusive, so hard
to find and then sustain. Sometimes,
it seems that it’s just within reach, but then
suddenly snatched away. And just as deftly, it can
surprise us by reappearing and lodging somewhere
deep inside.  All those little steps, each so tiresome,
do finally amount to more than their sum
and can catapult us up to the top—
where we can finally lookout,
see where we’ve been,
know where we are…

ps. yes, this was taken at the Grand Canyon

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

7 responses

  1. This expresses my experience so completely. Just when I didn’t think I could go on, I had the courage to take another small step. When I didn’t think I could go on, I would reach out for help one last time and find it and this would give me the courage to take a few more steps. I believe it was George Patton who said that courage isn’t being unafraid – it is moving ahead in spite of fear (or something like that). Thanks for the courage to do this post. 🙂

    October 9, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    • recoverythrumylens

      Pat, there’s nothing more gratifying than hearing that I have touched another’s experience…so validating to know that we’re not forging our path alone…it did take some courage to put this out there, but it also felt like just the right message for today…:)

      October 9, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      • Pat Bailey

        Yes!

        October 9, 2012 at 2:39 pm

  2. Such an incredibly powerful photo of the Grand Canyon Meryl… It speaks volumes all by itself about your topic today. I do know what you mean about feeling secure that we are so close -then suddenly have that security vanish 😦 thank you for reminding me it is those tiny little steps that will sustain us… Great post my friend ~ xo R

    October 9, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    • recoverythrumylens

      Thanks, Robyn…I wanted to write about Courage and searched my files for a photograph that would visualize what I wanted to say…when I revisited this one, it struck the right cord…so pleased that it resonated….xoxomeryl

      October 9, 2012 at 7:25 pm

  3. Yes, I can relate. Beautiful photo of the Grand Canyon!

    October 12, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    • recoverythrumylens

      Ahhh, thanks Fergie…it’s an oldie but goodie!

      October 13, 2012 at 9:06 am

Your comment is appreciated!

