a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Anger

cropping up 
like lettuce in
spring
stubble on
chin
grass that
grows
needs a
mow
same old
song
game of
pong
what went
wrong
how to
depose
beach that
erodes

©Meryl Spiegel 2012
All rights reserved
No reproduction without permission

Anger is one of those taboo subjects.
The enemy that most of us have difficulty discussing
without raising our voices. Perhaps our most powerful emotion,
we’ll do anything to avoid talking about it. Quite the conundrum since
repressed anger— anger turned inward—usually results in depression.
So how and where do you release your anger safely?
Do you punch your pillow,  write in your journal,
vent to a friend,  attend a support group?
I’d love to hear from you!

16 responses

  1. Oh this is so good! My son and I have finally realized that we need some counselling for his relentless anger and my sorrow (due to my husband’s PD). Thank you so much for this post!

    October 4, 2012 at 10:53 am

    • You’re so welcome, Julie…the most important step is to recognize it and become aware how it can control our mood and outlook…not an easy subject to post about…but so happy I did!
      xomeryl

      October 4, 2012 at 10:57 am

      • His anger is so ferocious now (verbally, not physically) that has now become a priority for us to address. You are right about how hard it is to post about anger – I did a few this week and regretted and retracted one – argh!

        October 4, 2012 at 11:01 am

  2. Great post, Meryl! We were definitely on the same wavelength here. I can’t believe our postings today are so similar!
    (Didn’t something similar happen once before with our postings?…)

    October 4, 2012 at 11:09 am

    • It’s quite remarkable, Fergie…don’t remember another instance except when I reblogged your Inner Advisor post a few weeks ago…well here’s to releasing Anger!!!!

      October 4, 2012 at 11:15 am

  3. Timely for me Meryl… I am dealing with a new personal discovery related to my medical care) that had stirred up this forbidden emotion in me…and am having great difficulty with processing the anger. Made even more difficult because of the severe pain that seems only to be escalating each day. Truly not sure how I will depose my eroded beach…. Deep breaths — Deep breaths…. xxoo Much Love…

    October 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    • Sorry to hear that, Robyn…perhaps we need an Anger Pow Wow..or a joint post called Pow Wow…some drumming on the beach…too bad our fellow bloggers aren’t closer so they can join in…I hope you are exhaling…sending prayers your way…xoxmeryl

      October 4, 2012 at 12:46 pm

  4. Hi Meryl,
    When I was young I used to lose my temper a lot, and would stomp around slamming doors, punching walls and generally being unpleasant, nowadays as I’ve got older I’ve calmed down. .. a bit 🙂 I still stomp around and I shout quite a lot, but I’ve stopped hitting the door and wall for a number of reasons, the main one being it hurt!
    Rather than lash out now, I tend to keep quiet(er) tha I would have done before. I still get angry ( sometime about the silliest things ) but I think it’s more controlled now.
    It does help too that both my wife and I go to watch football ( soccer to you 🙂 ) and we can both vent our spleens there..plus my wife is a very steady calming influence on me.
    Hope all is ok with you,
    take care xxx

    October 4, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    • Thanks for sharing, Seadog…it takes humility to admit when we haven’t been so pleasant..sounds like you’ve toned things down a bit and have a handle on your behavior..things are a bit tough for me in this department lately; but expressing it here seems to be helping…:)

      October 4, 2012 at 3:52 pm

  5. Sometimes anger is used as a form of manipulation, more so by men because men aren’t as afraid of their anger as women are. Men don’t like to show sadness. What your post is about is the anger that comes from an injustice to us. Physical pain that doesn’t go away and gets in the way of our living our lives isn’t fair. I punched my pillow, screamed, journaled, talked to a therapist who affirmed that I had something to be angry about, and cried a lot. I think all this is called dealing with it – but the anger comes back when the injustice doesn’t stop. When the injustice stops the anger stops. Oh, I forgot that also slam doors when I’m angry at my husband and I want him to know it without having to tell him. Silly me.

    October 4, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    • Yes, Pat…injustice…that’s exactly what prompted my post…you are so perceptive…and yes, when the injustice stops, sure do hope the anger does too…thanks as always for your insightful sharing….xoxmeryl

      October 4, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      • I can’t promise that the anger will go away when the injustice stops. The issues of repentance and forgiveness are factors. But it sure takes a lot of energy to be angry forever. But you know that. Blessings to you, Meryl. I hope you can find the healing so strongly desire.

        October 4, 2012 at 6:59 pm

  6. My anger is easily released… grab the camera and walk… talk to myself out loud whilst walking… something I’ve taught myself over the last 18 years… when My wife got her first cancer and confrontation just seemed so wrong… so now camera, walk and talk… (never take a photo) must be my comfort blanket or something in old age….

    October 5, 2012 at 12:54 am

    • I like your recipe, Bulldog!!! Will try it next time…but I wonder why you don’t take a photo…maybe just the intention is enough to make you feel better…thanks so much for sharing!

      October 5, 2012 at 8:38 am

  7. Very difficult subject but thank you!!! I was taught from young age not to express it…Now, have to recognize it before it turns “in” and try to place it correctly in the first place, then..try to see if a ‘root cause’ beyond the seeming one…after reflection…anything recurring??…have I ever felt similar…why?…Is there bottom line a fear on the flip side? a hurt?

    October 5, 2012 at 2:10 am

    • Yes Linda, not an easy subject and I had put off posting about it until this verse came to me…then I recalled the image taken back in 2006…sounds like you have a good handle on catching it before it sets in..and yes, usually connected to fear and hurt…thanks for sharing…very helpful…xoxmeryl

      October 5, 2012 at 8:37 am

Your comment is appreciated!

