a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Solitude

9 responses

  1. Robyn Lee

    Striking image Meryl… Love the composition and the ripples and light captured in the water…. and yes – Solitude — such a treasured gift for me these days. I am never alone even when I am — there is peace and comfort in solitude – it is where we can tap into who we really are – unencumbered. I used this quote on one of my posts on this topic – it is by Lord Byron…β€œIn solitude, where we are least alone.” ~ Much Love dear friend xxoo R

    September 24, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    • Yes, Robyn….you put into words what I was going to say about this image, but then I thought I would let it speak for itself. I used to be terrified of being alone and sometimes I still am, but now I realize it is where I am most myself and I can be my own best friend. I’m pleased to hear it did its job. You and Lord Byron…so wise…:)

      September 25, 2012 at 2:59 am

  2. This reminds me of The Great Gatsby. πŸ™‚ Nice interpretation.

    September 25, 2012 at 12:29 am

    • I hadn’t thought of that, Pat. But of course, this is Long Island…quite a compliment and he does appear to be a gentleman…thank you!

      September 25, 2012 at 2:52 am

  3. Nice shot … I drive my girls to school every morning and then I have sometime before going to work , so i go frequently to the sea front and have this stretched look to the endless horizon.. Its a wonderful exercise .. I wish one time that someone will take a photo for me at such a moment of solitude … To the technical side .. If this was a planned photo, so I can say you made it more mystical intentially .. Isolating the strange looking light from its source, isolating the gaze fron its target ( cutting the other bank and horizon ) both gave that impression that you intentionally wanted that , may be to enhance the idea of solitude … Again I admire the freshness of the raw unaltered photo…it needs courage that i lack … Beautiful

    September 25, 2012 at 1:26 am

  4. Thanks Tarek, great to hear that it resonated with you…from what I know of you so far, I can imagine you standing on such a pier contemplating your day..perhaps I did photograph you….:)
    And the photo was pre-visualized, not particularly planned: it was a spontaneous moment that I captured on a foggy evening in this lovely spot. At first the gentleman was talking with another and then moved away to be on his own. I adjusted the aperture to isolate him as well as the composition. And the greenish light was a gift to counter balance the image. Thank you for your astute observations…Meryl

    September 25, 2012 at 2:48 am

  5. Jeff E.

    “Stupid GPS told me to turn right at the dock, that’s the last time I’m buying a yellow Smart Car!!!”

    September 26, 2012 at 4:46 pm

  6. Jeff E.

    He seems to be contemplating that quiet, rustic area on the far shore. He looks like a businessman, I hope he is not planning to “improve” it by putting up something shiny and new!!

    September 26, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  7. Girl Power didn’t show up through the link in my e-mail. I tried a couple of times.

    September 26, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

