a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Leap: Flexible Plans

From Meryl:
Here is a post that resounded for me
today. It’s amazing how if you are ready and willing
to receive it, the perfect message filters through.
Thank you Christa!
xoxmeryl

Christa Avampato

My friend, Blair, sent me this photo and I promptly printed it out to hang at my desk. Plans are important – they give us a guidepost and help us bolster our sense of determination. They help us to persevere. However, if we never give ourselves the flexibility to change and alter them, we run the risk of missing out on something wonderful.

Life has many twists and turns. We receive information and insight all the time, and those insights can bring about wonderfully unexpected and unplanned opportunities. The joys of life are often coupled with surprises and adventures we never saw coming. Don’t miss out on them; they arrive at our doorstep for a reason.

View original post

11 responses

  1. Elva

    Don’t I know it! Even the surprise that carries good fortune can be difficult. Difficult if you identify with a “sad sack” story. Let go and glide on the wings of love.

    September 17, 2012 at 11:55 am

    • So nice to hear from you here, Elva! When I read this from a fellow blogger, it resonated so, that I had to share. Thanks for being there and being you!

      September 17, 2012 at 11:58 am

  2. ” If you want to tame your inner demon you must not become too attached to any particular life plan” … I am not sure I agree with this my friend .. It sounds like ” don’t have passion in whatever you are doing because it may break you if it fails” .. Or ” don’t climb this mountain because you may break your leg ” .. I would retain my demons alive to provoke me and remind me that I am alive .. I believe in th drive of the heart and gut and I will call my brain latter to justify and plan for recovery and plans B!C!D!E…….. Thank you for sharing this quote which kept running in my flu struck head and i decided to put my life plans in a one minute drawing (which I have no clue how to post it here ) .. I will reblog

    September 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    • Sorry you are sick, Tarek…the flu is awful…makes it so hard to think…I hear what you are saying but I don’t think this message is advising us to give up our passions…quite the contrary…it’s just saying not to hold onto them too tightly…to be flexible if adjustments are needed to be made to fulfill your dreams. Feel better and look forward to seeing your drawing! xoxm

      September 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

  3. Pingback: Life plans : one minute sketch « TarekOfCairo

  4. Excellent share Meryl…This very much reminds me of a ‘mantra’/coping tool I use when I am loosing my center, and angry or frustrated that things are very much ‘not’ the way I want them to be. I say: “I am where I am” ~ then I ask myself if I can be ok ‘there’ just in this moment. Then I breathe and try to open myself up to receive whatever good might present itself. Sometimes this can be a remarkable exercise- especially with regard to emotional healing. On the physical pain/disability – it’s more difficult…. but I’m still trying. Much Love and thank you xxoo

    September 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    • Yes, Robyn … So many benefits to accepting where we are… yet not always easy to stop and be present… so many powerful benefits from meditation… Thanks for sharing your experience, strength and hope!

      September 17, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      • Yes, and it provoked many deep comments including an original drawing from Cairo!

        September 17, 2012 at 7:47 pm

  5. Christa

    So glad you enjoyed the post. It reminded me that we really are such adaptable, beautiful creatures! 🙂

    September 17, 2012 at 6:06 pm

  6. Ah the epitome of disappointment! I also like the saying “Be flexible, you must bend or you’ll break” it’s along the same lines.
    Wonderful photo and quote!!

    September 29, 2012 at 12:42 am

    • Yes, so difficult to readjust and change course…flexibility of body is easier for me than of the mind…working on it…:)

      September 29, 2012 at 4:10 am

Your comment is appreciated!

