a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Bounty

before you pick me
strip me bare
take notice
be aware
of the bounty
of what’s there


Two days ago my children and I tried
to go peach picking. All excited, we found our
way to the farm. When we arrived, we approached
a young man working at the stand stocked with baskets
of peaches and nectarines for sale. “We’d like to go picking,” I said.
“No picking today,” he replied with a blank stare.  Scanning the rows and rows
of peach trees surrounding us, I said “what do you mean?”
“Too much picking last weekend,” he replied,
“no more until Friday.”
Dejected, I grabbed my grandson’s hand and lead him over to a tree
filled with fruit where I took this picture. “But Grammy, why
can’t we pick them?” he asked over and over.
“”We just have to wait.” I said.
“All we can do it look.”

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

8 responses

  1. Sometime waiting is just what we need to do befor we pick the fruit .. The wisdom of patience .. How can we resist the emptation of te nows .. Thank you for sharing .. Waiting for the picking photos ..

    August 30, 2012 at 7:59 am

    • Yes, Tarek, patience seems to be a recurring theme here. “The temptation of now” is indeed so strong…a life-long lesson…hope we make it back there so there’s more to show….:-)

      August 30, 2012 at 8:09 am

  2. Awww…your poor grandson. A very powerful post Meryl. I actually felt the disappointment built from anticipation and then being turned away. Instant gratification versus self-restraint. A life-long lesson for all ages. Hope the little one gets to go picking peaches with Grammy again soon. Sharon

    August 30, 2012 at 10:02 am

    • Yes, Sharon, we all were disappointed, my daughters too who are in their twenties. Hopefully we will be able to go tomorrow….so nice to hear from you!

      August 30, 2012 at 10:43 am

  3. Oh…waiting is so very hard! Especially when what you want is right in front of you. Wonderful wisdom in this….thank you for sharing this and the gorgeous picture!! 😀 Hugs & Blessings to you sweet friend 🙂

    August 30, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    • Yes, it seems to be my mantra these days….thanks as always for the kudos, Christina!

      August 31, 2012 at 9:03 am

  4. Oh no — how hard is this for a little child to understand…. even for us grown-ups!! What a brilliant photo though, I love the light highlights and the sun peeking through. Makes me feel hopeful that there will be future opportunities for certain. The peaches look yummy too! Wonderful post dearest Meryl! xo

    August 30, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    • I love the backlighting too Robyn…you’ve developed such a keen eye…so wonderful to watch and happy I am a part of it!

      August 31, 2012 at 9:04 am

Your comment is appreciated!

