a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Growth

there’s you
way up there
apple green
taking your time
on the scene

there’s me
way down there
already red
about to fall
on my head

This summer I planted my first
real vegetable garden, mostly of
tomatoes. It’s been so exciting to
watch the plants thrive to the point
where I had to erect a trellis to
support the long vines laden with
fruit.

As I start to pick the first batch,
I notice that those lower on
the vine are ripening much earlier.
It prompted me to reflect on how
we all grow at our own pace.

Some of us are early bloomers,
willing to take risks, to step out
and make mistakes, learn from experience.
Others take longer to mature, are more
cautious, not so willing to try new things.

In relationships, it can be challenging when
we learn and grow at a different rate than
our loved ones. In recovery, it can be
lonely while we are waiting for others to
catch on and frightening to think that
perhaps, it will never happen. That
they will never join us on our journey.

I wish I had some wisdom to share on
this dilemma….but I’m at a loss here.
If anyone out there does, I’d love to
hear from you…

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

15 responses

  1. You’re so right on every level.. that is the challenge with relationships.. being patient while each catches up with the other!

    August 22, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    • Yes, Barbara, it takes lots of patience…I guess it goes hand in hand with my previous post, Waiting…

      August 23, 2012 at 5:48 am

  2. Your tomatoes look yummy (and I know they are 🙂 Great capture too demonstrating this dilemma you describe so well in your poem and narrative. As for wisdom… it’s a tough one. My teachers (spiritual) have expressed that avoiding ‘resistance to what is’ – or ’not pushing against’ is the very best strategy. So I suppose in this case – not trying to change the other person, or setting a schedule for their pace of growth and evolution. Once we let go of trying to control those things that are outside of ourself – I understand the process will accelerate with much more comfort and ease. Now can I say I’m sure this always works… no ~ but this will likely be the generalized advice among the sages 🙂 Will be interesting to hear others thoughts on this here… Excellent and thought provoking post Meryl! Thank you dear one xo

    August 22, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    • Avoiding resistance of what is, I like that, thanks Robyn…that is quite helpful…you always have such insight…. And yes, the tomatoes are yummy!

      August 23, 2012 at 5:53 am

  3. ~Lady Day

    this was lovely…you shared wisdom enough in the observation of these facts and comparing them to people…am I a rotten tomato..hm, somedays 🙂

    August 22, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    • I guess you’re right, Lady Day…sometimes observation is enough…thanks for the input and it doesn’t sound like you’re rotten at all…:-)

      August 23, 2012 at 5:56 am

  4. I like your post and the comments. I have found it very difficult to wait for others to catch up but also painful when I can’t catch up to where I want to be. My husband and I have been married for 48 years and our marriage was most troubled and vulnerable when we were out of sync and I was impatient. I remembered one night we layed in bed and both of us were so scared that we couldn’t say anything except let’s hold hands and pray. We were so scared that we didn’t even have the words to pray. We cried together. Thanks for your insight and wisdom.

    August 23, 2012 at 8:16 am

    • That is so very helpful, Pat. Thank you for sharing your experience…it makes me feel not so alone…these days have been trying…but I have been praying and hopefully things will improve soon….xoxm

      August 23, 2012 at 8:44 am

      • Maybe that is why patience is so hard – we don’t want to be alone. Especially when we are going through scarey times and want the people who are most important to us to be by our sides. I think I understand your pain and fear. Hang on.

        August 23, 2012 at 8:46 am

  5. Yes, it’s quite lonely. I’m so grateful to be able to express myself here. Finding others who understand and have been thru similar experiences gives me hope…

    August 23, 2012 at 8:54 am

  6. I wish I had some truly sage words of wisdom…but I don’t. I can off my hugs and prayers and assurances that with trying comes hope and with hope communication and with communication…anything is possible. And your pictures make me want tomatoes now :p Hugs sweet friend 🙂

    August 25, 2012 at 3:52 am

    • Those are wise words, Christina….communication is the key and the challenge….and hope, well I’m trying to hang on…and wish you were nearby so I could share some tomatoes with you…xoxm

      August 25, 2012 at 6:52 am

      • Yes, we were fortunate enough early in our marriage to figure out how important communication is. However, it does take two to really make that work –that’s the tough part!! It’s so hard because we made so much progess for not only communication but how to truly live and love each other….now if I am fortunate to meet someone new…have to start over. Maybe my information will help someone somewhere along the way, that would help me feel really really good.

        A new theme I seem to be stumbing upon is hope…and I’ve decided that hope resides in the inbetween places – inbetween the darker less pleasant emotions — There is always hope…cling to that sweet friend….and the rest will work out!

        I wish I was closer too….could use an awesome hug along with tasting those gorgeous tomotatoes!!! Hugs and blessings sweet friend!! xxxx

        August 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm

  7. I don’t have any answers to offer you Meryl. Just some thoughts. Each person is an inscrutable mystery, even ourselves. I have learnt that ultimately, we are each responsible for one life and that is our own. We each have to chart our own paths, our own growth. And what is enough for one receptacle is hardly a drop in another. What can we offer to help the other one along? Do they want help? We can’t fix everything and sometimes patience and acceptance are what is needed for them and more so for us. Stay strong, stay inspired, stay filled with hope. It’ll rub off in the end! Someone has to take the lead. Hugs xx Shaz

    August 30, 2012 at 5:37 am

    • Ahhhh, Sharon, just what I needed to hear…you certainly have much wisdom to offer…acceptance and patience…both great challenges…even waiting for tomatoes and peaches to ripen isn’t easy…:-). and great to get hugs from you just for today….xoxm

      August 30, 2012 at 11:17 am

Your comment is appreciated!

