a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Waiting

how

long

must

I

wait

how

long

will

it

take

rain

snow

or

sleet

I’d

rather

not

eat

forever

waiting

to

see

How many of us are waiting for our “train” to come in?
How long have we been holding onto something hoping it will
materialize. How patient have we been with ourselves and the Universe?
These are questions I ask myself these days as I work things through,
Usually I come up with the same answer. Be patient, keep waiting.

But patience is so hard for me, I whine like a child.
When I’m done whining, I re-evaluate what it is
I’m waiting for. Is it here already and I don’t
even see it? Am I asking for the right
thing? Finally, I ask myself
How important is it?
And that’s where I
seem to find my
answer.

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

12 responses

  1. ‘How patient have we been with the Universe and ourselves’ this is so often a thought of mine. Great post Meryl.

    August 20, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks again, Chris…mindfulness seems to be a prerequisite to patience and so you must on that path…:-)

      August 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm

  2. I love that inpatient look of the boys. So eager to get on with his travel. Of course I had to have a look a your post right away, since we amazingly both have written around the theme of patience. Patience is hard isn’t it? A great post again.

    August 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    • Yes, waiting is tough…seems I’m in a perpetual state of waiting so might as well accept it and enjoy the ride….:)
      We weren’t going anywhere…he just likes to watch the trains go by…but, alas, none were coming…

      August 20, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    • Yes, so tough…seems like I’m in a perpetual state of waiting so might as well accept it and enjoy the ride…:-)
      We weren’t actually travelling…he likes just watch the trains go by…but alas, when we were there, none were coming….

      August 20, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  3. Great post and thought provoking, but as with you, I try to keep patient and keep waiting. Patience is difficult, but sometimes, we don’t have a choice, as in my case right now. Trying to progress too fast has resulted in some large setbacks which take longer to get back on track. Being impatient delays progress. Being patient, mindful, consulting my “inner advisor” and being in the present can help move things along faster. Easier said than done.
    Excellent photo to represent your message.

    August 20, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    • Yes, Fergie….it’s not easy…but slowness seems to payoff here…someone once said, “the only change I trust is slow change.” I often remember that when I face challenges…thank you for the thought-provoking comment…:-)

      August 20, 2012 at 10:23 pm

  4. Wait, time, space, stop and start again, every morning is a start again as in life.
    Very good shot and congratulations on your grandson.

    August 20, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    • Thank you Carlos! Every morning is a new start…it is much easier to wait one day at a time….xom

      August 20, 2012 at 10:24 pm

      • That you have a good day tomorrow, raining here too …
        😉

        August 20, 2012 at 10:26 pm

  5. What a lovely spontaneous shot ~ he is precious waiting for the train!! I somehow missed this in my reader initially! Patience – oh yes — aren’t we all just waiting … I think your advice is good ~ question how much relevant importance is associated with the anticipation. I think there are very few ‘earthly’ matters that warrant our impatience. The rest — well, they can wait!! 🙂 Much Love friend xo

    August 21, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    • It was very spontaneous…he was so dogged, couldn’t understand why the train wasn’t coming…and really would have just stood there waiting in the rain…so much we can learn from just observing children…he was impatient yet enjoying himself…lots to learn….love you….xom

      August 22, 2012 at 9:38 am

Your comment is appreciated!

