a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Divide

first sight
swath of green
nothing more
in between

time turns
emotions fly
windows close
walls arise

divided still
peeping thru
fencing now
glimpses
too

Setting boundaries is vital to recovery.
For me, it was a revolutionary idea and one of the most difficult
skills to learn. And once I finally did, it was even harder to maintain them,
to keep them sturdy and solid. It seems that when we adopt new behavior we go from one
extreme to the other. So initially, those boundaries were walls with no windows, no way to
look outside. As I’ve become more comfortable setting limits in old relationships as well as new,
I notice that my walls have become more like beach fencing, shielding me
yet providing lots of openings so I can see others
and others can still see me.
🙂

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

13 responses

  1. So much to learn from this post Meryl. Beautiful image ….. boundaries but with space and portals to see, sense and feel. Wonderful image and wisdom my friend!! Love it 🙂 xo

    August 18, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    • It’s one of my classic images that I’ve been saving until the right words came to me…happy to hear it was meaningful…so grateful for all your encouragement, Robyn..xom

      August 18, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  2. Wow, this post is wonderful and I can relate to all that you have said, particularly the going from one extreme to the other when learning new behavior. My windows need a bit of a clean at the moment but I am persisting with finding that damn squidgy.

    Thank you so much for letting me realise that my struggles with changing my behavior and learning new ways of thinking is an issue other people have.

    Chris.x

    August 18, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    • You are so welcome, Chris! I’m so pleased that you found my experience helpful…and it does often feel that we are the only ones going through these things…but opening up where I feel safe has changed my thinking, although I also need that squidgy at times too…:-)….thanks for the gratifying comment….xomeryl

      August 18, 2012 at 3:49 pm

  3. Beautiful shot, beautiful pictures and words that have no limits, they reach the farthest … it is good to read.

    August 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    • Thank you Carlos…it is rather ironic that it does seem to be boundless yet about boundaries….glad you enjoyed!

      August 18, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  4. What a perfect pairing of pic and poetry…thank you.

    August 18, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  5. Thanks goes to the wind who brought you to my blog .. Riding back to yours will definitely enrich my experience .. i am as yourself ..work in progress…
    This is a wonderful idea with the most elegant visual package .. The photo is stunning .. The idea is provoking … How can your fortress turn into such a transparent beach fence … What defence you have behind it … Isn’t the beach tempting … How can you resist the inviting scene … It seems the more we learn to put walls we end with the wall inside us.. The beach fence becomes just a reminder … Wonderful work …

    August 19, 2012 at 9:17 am

    • So nice to meet you and your work too, Tarek…amazing how miles away from another culture, we can find some like-mindness…it’s one of the gifts I find here…thanks go to Robyn Lee of Through the Healing Lens who suggested that I may find your work envigorating…I look forward to it!

      August 19, 2012 at 11:24 am

      • I thought dear Robyn Lee may have something to do with this, you certainly feel like two different stars in the same galaxy …

        August 19, 2012 at 3:01 pm

  6. Beautiful image and words. Robyn suggested we check you out because of what you do and what we do. She seems to be a matchmaker of sorts 🙂 We have an online gallery of photography by people who deal with mental health issues. It’s a group of talented and supportive artists, and we would be interested in featuring you and your work, this and/or others. Please check it out and let me know if and what you would like to contribute. Submission details are on the site or feel free to email. Feel well, D

    September 13, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    • So wonderful!!!! I knew there must be others out there like me…what a perfect match! Many thanks for the invitation and to Robyn, my dear friend. I will take a longer look at your site tomorrow, your submission details and will definitely submit some work soon….Thank you for finding me!

      September 13, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

