a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Love IX

I blend in
yet ask you
to see me

I chime in
yet ask you
to hear me

I stay in
yet ask you
to save me

I leap out
yet ask you
to love me

We all have our contradictions.
Aspects of our personality that are at odds with one another.
It’s often difficult to reconcile those parts of ourselves that don’t seem to get along;
that don’t make sense to us or those around us, especially our loved ones. That’s where
we often get in trouble. It’s difficult to accept that some things are simply just as they are,
regardless of what we think is logical. The sooner we can let go of what
we think “should be”, the sooner we can love ourselves
and others, warts and all.
🙂

visit Love to see all in this series
©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

14 responses

  1. steven spiegel

    Cute, funny and poignant. I love you.

    August 16, 2012 at 9:19 am

    • So happy it touched your heart….and made you laugh too….thanks for the wonderful compliment….:-) xoxom

      August 16, 2012 at 10:10 am

  2. Jeff E.

    Hi Meryl, here is a possible verse two. I just banged it out, so it might not be my best work, but I tried… “Please kiss me…Even though…I may flinch. Please call me…Even though…I am distant. Please hold me…Even though…I pull away. Please love me…Even though…I seem cold.”

    August 16, 2012 at 11:26 am

    • You’ve definitely got the idea, Jeff….always fun to see what you come up with!

      August 16, 2012 at 11:48 am

  3. I’ve been remiss in visiting you recently for that I apologize, your poem today is beautiful. and your words very wise, thank you. My daughter-in-law loves frogs and toads of all kinds warts and all! 🙂

    August 16, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    • Nice to hear from you Penny! Pleased you enjoyed my frog and always happy to hear from you!

      August 16, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  4. Another really special post Meryl. The shot is so great – and the poem just brings so much power to the image… last line is my favorite 🙂 This frog is perfect – just as you are my friend 🙂 xo

    August 16, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    • Thanks as always Robyn…he is kind of cute and did have some fun with him…hope to see you real soon!

      August 16, 2012 at 6:45 pm

  5. A fun post and a post full of wisdom. I love how you play with words and pictures. They reinforce each other and bring so much more depth to the experience. A great picture made even better by the deep words – or the other way around.

    August 16, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    • Praise from you always means so much…I am having lots of fun playing with words and pictures….seems I’ve been doing it for quite a long time, separately….here I get to put them together much like a puzzle…thanks for noticing…:-)

      August 16, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  6. Ohhhhh you are touching on a lovely and very “spaciousness-creating” point — letting go of expectations…of all those “shoulds”. My clients in recovery call it “shoulding all over yourself!” Meryl, you weave poetry and words and photos together in such a lovely, seamless way. Love, Lisa

    August 17, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    • Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and visiting my site, Lisa….yes letting go of shoulds/expectations is vital work, not so easy but so important. So pleased you enjoyed my creations here….xomeryl

      August 17, 2012 at 10:14 pm

  7. I picture myself walking in a cobblestone alley humming these wonderful lyrics … This needs to be a song … Love it ..

    August 19, 2012 at 9:23 am

    • Such a compliment…I will let my the little frog know…:-)

      August 19, 2012 at 11:25 am

Your comment is appreciated!

