a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Jest

stretching high
fans of green
I’m aquatic
stand out
blessed

don’t be
confused
I’m not Lily
nor of
the West

think
take a guess
rather giggle
than scream
I jest

Through recovery, I’ve learned how important it is
to have fun even when stressed. In the past, I became so fixated on solving a problem
that I couldn’t breathe, couldn’t move, certainly couldn’t imagine enjoying anything until the problem was solved.
It was just another way that I was paralyzed by fear. Recently, I heard this saying: “move a muscle, change a thought.”
If I could find a way to replace my negative thoughts with positive energy
like gazing at this image and writing this little ditty, perhaps I could change my course.

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

12 responses

  1. Meryl, your poem is PERFECT!! It reflects all I learned about the beautiful lotus flower ~ and then your narrative is so fitting as lotus symbolizes ‘new beginnings’ in many ancient cultures. Change the thought ~ move to the next best place – and you can change your emotional set point ~ you begin again from a new starting place ~ a better-feeling place. It’s a wonderful thing to understand. Truly inspiring post my friend. I loved all of it 🙂 xxoo

    August 14, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    • Ahhhhh…so happy it works and resonates…such a magical flower with so much positive power…and a wonderful complement to your lilies! Xom

      August 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm

  2. Gorgeous photo Meryl! And definitely magical! So true about changing thoughts….like taking a nature walk and just basking in the glory of nature and perfectness of things often overlooked…can change a whole attitude! A wonderful reminder for me, thank you so much for sharing! I am trying to remember the things I used to do to bring peace and serenity to my spirit…this was a beautiful post that has inpired me to take time for those nature walks! Thank you so much for sharing! Hugs and Love friend!!

    August 14, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    • You are so welcome, Christina! Nature has such curative powers…and is so reliable, always there waiting for us…I’m so pleased you found some inspiration and serenity here…xoxm

      August 14, 2012 at 7:30 pm

  3. Jeff E.

    “Lotus” all raise our hands to the Heavens……….

    August 14, 2012 at 6:44 pm

  4. Jeff E.

    I was trying for a Lotus pun, not sure if you got it.

    August 16, 2012 at 11:31 am

  5. Change is hard, whether it comes at you unexpectedly or it drifts into your life, I so agree with you about having fun. I truly believe humans have the capability of laughter because we need it both for embracing life and to shore ourselves up when needed. An excellent post. True and wise! 🙂

    August 16, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    • Yes, Penny, once we get the hang of that thing we call ‘fun’ it does make life so much easier to handle…thanks as always for your kind encouragement!

      August 16, 2012 at 6:43 pm

  6. Yes yes, fear can paralyze us. Our fearful THOUGHTS. We can become frozen. We “unfreeze” when we can wake up and realize that we are frozen…that particular thoughts keep us frozen. And we realize that “oh, this is just a THOUGHT! That’s it!”, we realize we have the power to change them!

    I love love love your reminder to HAVE FUN. I often need that reminder. I can get so serious — so into my work and tasks at hand. And I need the reminder, as truly an EARTH sign to get out of the earth a bit and into the air and water elements — to have fun and be light.

    Beautiful, love, beautiful.

    August 17, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    • Yes, Lisa…I too can get quite intense and overly focused on work….been doing a lot of work on lightening up…pleased that you were able to step in and enjoy the water here….:-)

      August 17, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

