a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Coincidence

east west
north south
wherever I go
a coincidence
reminder
someone
I know

Since my posts have lately been on the serious
and perhaps downright spooky side, I thought this might be
a fun image to lighten things up. While on an assignment for my
local Patch online news magazine, I was photographing amusing
boat names and came across this one. I couldn’t help but laugh since
I’m indeed a typical Pisces: sensitive, creative and
always swimming in opposite directions.
It’s coincidences like this that
make me sure there are
no coincidences.

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

10 responses

  1. Jeff E.

    Meryl, that theory sounds “fishy” to me! Just kidding, sorry for the really old pun.

    August 8, 2012 at 3:23 pm

  2. Maybe so but it keeps coming up….:)

    August 8, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  3. I believe that — no coincidences at all! Pretty cool for a boat name ~ great shot too, like the angle you chose 🙂 xo

    August 8, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  4. It’s good to get validation on this, Robyn! Seems to happen more and more these days…

    August 8, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  5. Jeff E.

    My older brother, who was an avid golfer, passed away several years ago. After his death, my mother was naturally very upset. Then, several golf balls began turning up in random places in her yard and gardens over the next few months. She took it as a sign, and was very comforted by it. So yes, not always a coincidence….

    August 10, 2012 at 2:09 pm

  6. Wow…thats a wonderful story…gives me shivers…the older I get the more I see the more I believe…

    August 10, 2012 at 4:50 pm

  7. Jeff E.

    Did I ever tell you the “ghost story” involving my mother and my deceased oldest sister? If not, I would love to include it here. Please let me know. 100% true, 100% spine-tingling, 100% related to your post above, concerning coincidence and “signs”.

    August 11, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    • Sure….feel free…it sounds intriguing although sad to hear you’ve lost two siblings…

      August 12, 2012 at 9:22 am

  8. Jeff E.

    This “ghost” story is true, but whenever I tell it, I still get choked up, and people tell me it gives them chills.

    Thirty years ago, my oldest sister, a health nut, was stunned to learn that she had advanced ovarian cancer. She was told she had approx. a year to live, but she managed to hang on for ten, enduring years of surgeries and treatments. She lived in Chicago, and my mother also worked downtown at the time. During my sister’s final years, my mother would visit her often, towards the end it was every day after work. When the end finally came, my mother was crushed, but also relieved to have my sister’s suffering finally over. My Mom was in a kind of fog for several months afterwards. One day, she was at the train station in the city, and stopped to use the pay phone to call my Dad. She went to catch her train, then realized she had forgotten her purse. She knew it was probably gone by now, and when she returned, there was no sign of it. She asked the man at the counter about finding a purse, and he seemed very skeptical. However, he did go in the back, and returned with a purse that had just been brought to him. Mom recognized it right away, but the man was still very doubtful, until he opened it and saw her driver’s license. His attitude changed 180 degrees, and he apologized for being so gruff. He told my mother that usually, if you forget something, it is gone forever. But in this case, a nice young woman had brought the purse to him for safekeeping. As she handed it over, she had told him, “Please hold this purse…for my mother.”

    My Mom took this as a sign from my sister, to snap out of her fog, and to start living. She also was saying, “Ha ha! Look, I’m still here!”

    August 12, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    • Wonderful story, Jeff….thanks for sharing it with me and my readers…it’s much more than a coincidence…it sounds like it was a message that your mother needed to hear….comforting to know that there’s so much more than we can see…

      August 12, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

