a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Streaming

pink sand
wonderland
triangles
squares
no cares
silver sheen
emerald green
jet stream

When I’m stressed or overwhelmed,
I often find relief by escaping into my imagery
with wordplay. In the weeks since I started this blog last spring,
my short verses have become even shorter—more and more like
word association than poetry.With this post, it seems I’ve likened this
wordplay to “streaming” —the data transfer that takes place when radio stations
broadcast via the Internet.  Or is it just verbal dreaming?
I’m not quite sure but it seems to make
some kind of imaginary sense.

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

13 responses

  1. The photography is beautiful, your words say a lot shorter. I hope everything gets better and smile friend who will be good for us.

    July 31, 2012 at 10:59 am

  2. Thank you Carlos, yes, I’m going through quite a stressful time, but hopefully it will pass before too long…:)

    July 31, 2012 at 11:02 am

  3. Linda Rosso

    Beautiful image of yours. But i don’t understand the connection with the video below it of the guy singing “Red Sweatshirt?”

    July 31, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    • Thanks Linda…must be one of those ads WordPress runs below the blog sometimes…I guess it’s a sort of streaming…

      July 31, 2012 at 12:16 pm

  4. I so understand the therapy of ‘word-play’ Meryl. Yours is very effective. The ‘streaming’ analogy is excellent. I love this shoreline image and the escape it provides beneath your stream 🙂 xxoo R

    July 31, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  5. Glad you can relate, Robyn…it’s relaxing to let the mind wander and interesting to see what it conjures…I’m always surprised by the end of my verse…I guess that’s why we love to play with words….:)

    July 31, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  6. I feel the same re: the stream of consciousness with words Meryl… You are so skilled at keeping the economy of words so tight! That is a challenge. My work is almost story-telling through prose that is somewhat poetic … at that’s what’s been coming up lately.:)
    Have an intense one ready for later that I think you will find interesting.
    By the way, really love what you did in this post as far as sharing a big more insight/narrative under the post itself.
    Added a personal touch and no chance of it being overlooked. Hope you are hanging in, & sending lots of love xo

    July 31, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    • Will look for your prose story in the morning…unless I’m up in the middle of the night as I usually am…but am hanging in one day at a time…and glad to hear the little piece at the bottom was insightful…will probably use that format instead of the pages….xom

      July 31, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  7. Your streaming is so effective I hope you go with it for a while. I also hope that it brings a sense of peace to the stress you are feeling. Maybe you can stream those thoughts and feeling right out!

    July 31, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    • Thanks Pat…pleased you enjoyed it…will try to keep the rhythm going and yes, wring that stress right out….:)

      July 31, 2012 at 10:35 pm

  8. A lovely picture which bring by a feeling of calmness and relaxation. I love the pink-purple colour combination. Your streaming of words fill the space between the picture and me. Simple but touching. And I hope your stress will soon lessen, too.

    August 1, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    • Always great to hear from you, Otto! Pleased that my streaming projected a sense of calm and filled in the space….from here to Norway (or is it Seattle right now?), quite a distance for my few words…:-)

      August 1, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      • I am streaming from Seattle for the moment…

        August 1, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

