a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Present II

foot fingers
polished red
concentration
straight ahead
no departure
promised lands
supermarket
accountant
pharmacist
adoring fans

Through my recovery including ten years of yoga, I’ve learned to appreciate my feet. Yes, they’re mine.
For so long, I disliked them, thought they were too big, was barely aware of how important they are—that they’re my foundation. Without them, now where would I be?
When I’m having a hard time staying present and need to relax, but have no time or energy for exercise, I flex them and stretch my toes out as far as they’ll go. Pulls me right back into myself…feels wonderful…

Visit Present to see first edition

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

6 responses

  1. Fabulous Meryl – your feet I mean 🙂 And the entire post. Love the poem and the metaphor you have so honestly conveyed. Our foundation is everything — It’s how we are grounded in the earth, what we stand for, how we navigate our world. Beautiful work – and love the bright red polish -bold and confident – embracing of self… Excellent all around! sending love xo Robyn Lee

    June 19, 2012 at 12:32 am

    • It’s my first foray into showing more of myself…again inspired by you…and yes, feet are a good foundation for that…realized you just did that post about shoes and I had taken this image a few days before….:)

      June 19, 2012 at 7:30 am

  2. Hi Meryl! Oh but you’ve got beautiful feet and toes! When I was a child I was incredibly shy of my toes 😀 I spent years hunting for a wishing stone to wish them into a picture of elegance. I still have a good laugh when I see my potato toes but these days I have grown rather fond of them! What a great post and a wonderful reminder of cherishing every part of us. Where would we be without them. Hugs, Funny Toes xx

    June 19, 2012 at 6:27 am

    • Ahhh, thank you…potato toes I’d love to see a photo of them…we can start a new trend :)…I too have grown fond of mine ….was a little shy about sharing this but turned out to be fun!

      June 19, 2012 at 7:25 am

  3. Well, I think they look so pretty all polished up.. and the places they can go..

    June 20, 2012 at 12:21 am

Your comment is appreciated!

