a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Love II

bloodlets
pearl tenets
hospital bed
my menace
awaiting
penance
above
mere
Love

This is my second post in a series called Love that is
evolving through flowers.  As corny as it may sound,
Love is the key to any recovery starting with love of self.
And what could be closer to self than Nature.
So I’ve started with the beautiful blooms I’ve encountered.
I imagine it will progress in time, migrating to other living things.
So keep a lookout for at least one Love post per week.

to see all in this series
click on Love

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission

16 responses

  1. The image is spectacular Meryl. Poem is heavy… somewhat sad and disturbing. I sense there is violence or trauma within its context. Maybe I’m reading too much in… It certainly has made an impact paired with your photo. Excellent work as always! RL

    June 5, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    • Sorry you found it disturbing Robyn…I try to make things somewhat serene or at least hopeful here, but sometimes reality creeps in…hope you enjoyed anyway…xox

      June 5, 2012 at 3:39 pm

      • Absolutely- very powerful! Tugged on my heart some…

        June 5, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      • Then, I guess it’s doing its work….:)

        June 5, 2012 at 3:56 pm

  2. Pretty words and picture…love this 🙂

    June 5, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  3. Jeff E.

    A second verse for your consideration. I tried to keep it spare and thin. “honeymoon. angels swoon. cherries. june. laundry tumbles. pruner fumbles. shaved ice. raspberry. nice. “

    June 5, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    • Very sweet, Jeff…quite a different, more cheerful take on the image…maybe will repost on its own by the end of the month…I invite other readers to add to it to make it even more fun!

      June 5, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  4. Jeff E.

    I can be dark, I am usually extremely sarcastic. I just thought that you had already covered that aspect beautifully. We don’t appreciate sunshine without the rain! Viewing this image makes me want to run out and buy snow cones and band-aids!

    June 5, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  5. Very powerful combination that cannot help but be stirring and thought-provoking. (Plus I LOVE the beautiful flower shot, go figure!)

    June 5, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    • Ahhh…thank you KT…happy it stirred your thoughts….peonies are so magnificent and deeper than I had realized before I looked thru my lens…

      June 6, 2012 at 8:40 am

  6. Jeff E.

    I love that even though the cheerful white is in most of the image, the bits of red can grab attention and create worry and drama. And yes, I always say that I am solar-powered, winter is difficult.

    June 6, 2012 at 1:54 am

    • When I photographed the flower, I had no idea my pen would take me there…but that’s what is so wonderful about the process..

      June 6, 2012 at 8:45 am

  7. Jeff E.

    Here is a darker verse two, better suited to the theme of the original. “flesh ripping. memory tripping. peace. slipping. away. bandage gripping. sirens. lights. stay. for today.”

    June 6, 2012 at 1:32 pm

  8. Jeff E.

    Oooops, should have typed “bandage dripping.”

    June 6, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

