a Photographic Journey by Meryl

Wisdom II

Out in the open sun in my eyes
cameras pointed at me they think I’m wise
please no more questions about the dead
or love and money simply swivel your head

Please bring me a newt or a couple of mice
a fat little bunny would really be nice
I don’t know that much but I know what I like
I’m tired of daylight I’m going on strike

second stanza courtesy of Jeff Egan of Chicago
I invite you to add lines to my poems if so inspired via comments and will post my favorites with permission

to read more about Hooter–the Owl–go to Learning to See

©Meryl Spiegel 2012–All rights reserved–No reproduction without permission.

12 responses

  1. Terrific addition! Like this new profile view for Hooter too!!

    April 30, 2012 at 10:45 am

  2. recoverythrumylens

    Thanks Robyn, I’m having lots of fun with Hooter…yes, maybe the profile is wiser? What do you think?

    April 30, 2012 at 10:46 am

  3. I give a hoot and so does the owl. He is holding on to that perch with talons that are producing 5000 pounds per square inch.

    April 30, 2012 at 10:55 am

  4. recoverythrumylens

    Happy to hear that hoot, Steve…yes, he’s one mighty fellow…

    April 30, 2012 at 10:59 am

  5. Very fun second verse!! But don’t let him near my little bunny!

    April 30, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    • recoverythrumylens

      No worries…Calgary is quite a ways from the Quogue Wildlife where he’s behind bars most of the time….:(

      April 30, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  6. Jeff E.

    Maybe his name should be Twister??!! Thanks for posting the new lines, I hope this format change brings more attention to your excellent blog.

    April 30, 2012 at 3:33 pm

  7. recoverythrumylens

    Thank You, Jeff…it does make it a lot more fun…we’ll see if anyone else is interested…

    April 30, 2012 at 4:07 pm

  8. A great shot of the owl. I really like it’s expression, which might be only how the Hooter looks, but never-the-less. I also like the contrast between the owl and the blooming tree in the background, and you did very well to keep the flowers so out of focus; otherwise they would have taken the attention away from the owl.

    May 1, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    • Thank you…yes, the shallow depth of field worked well…and the expression, well, the profile does seem to make him look particularly wise…there were others where he’s softer and almost cuddly…who knew?

      May 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  9. Magnificent photography and fine points words chosen. Thank you.

    May 1, 2012 at 5:48 pm

  10. Your welcome Carlos…I appreciate your interest…

    May 1, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Your comment is appreciated!

